Quick Answer: Where Can A 16 Year Old Work In Texas?

How old do you have to be to work at PetSmart in Texas?

18 years oldMinimum Age to Work at PetSmart: 18 years old (How old do you have to be to work at PetSmart?).

What age can you legally work in Texas?

14Minimum working age Unless otherwise exempt or excepted, Texas child labor laws prohibit employers from employing youth under the age of 14.

What is the best job to get as a teenager?

Here are some of the best jobs for teens to pursue:Fast food attendant. National Average Salary: $9.29 per hour. … Car wash attendant. National Average Salary: $10.17 per hour. … Kennel assistant. … Grocery store cashier. … Daycare assistant. … Concession stand worker. … Restaurant server. … Restaurant host/hostess.More items…•

Can you be 13 and have a job?

In most states, the legal age to begin working is 14, but a 13-year-old can still perform many part-time jobs, from taking care of younger kids to tending gardens. … While there is no limit to how much a 13-year-old can earn, many states set a restriction on the number of continuous hours a child this age can work.

How do you get a work permit at 16 in Texas?

The application can be obtained at http://www.twc.state.tx.us/ui/lablaw/llcl72.pdf Texas Workforce Commission Certificate of Age. If a prospective or current employer asks a child, ages 14 to 17, to furnish a Certificate of Age, the certificate may be obtained from the Texas Workforce Commission.

What’s the latest a 16 year old can work?

In general, 16- and 17-year-olds may not work between 10 p.m. and 6 a.m. But they can work in manufacturing, mechanical, or mercantile establishments until 11 p.m. or in a supermarket until midnight if there is no school the next day. Supermarkets are food stores with at least 3,500 square feet of retail space.

Can you work at Chick Fil A at 14 in Texas?

Chick-fil-A Job Application To apply at Chick-Fil-A you must be at least 14 years old (locations may vary).

Does a 16 year old need a work permit in Texas?

Do child workers require a work permit: Though a work permit is not required, Texas does have a certificate of age document that is available to children to prove their age to an employer. Child actors or performers under the age of 14 must obtain a permit.

What is the labor law in Texas?

About Texas Labor Laws Minimum wage: During 2020, the minimum wage in Texas is set at $7.25 per hour. Texas payday law: Texas requires employers to designate paydays that comply with state law. Employees who qualify as professional, administrative or executive under federal law must be paid at least once per month.

What’s the best first job for 16?

Food ServiceHost/Hostess. As a host or hostess, you’ll be the first face restaurant patrons see when they come in to dine. … Dishwasher. … Busser. … Boba/Bubble Tea Cashier. … Ice Cream Server. … Smoothie Maker. … Grocery Bagger. … Sandwich Maker.More items…

How a 16 year old can make money?

How to Make Money as a TeenagerSell Stuff at School. This is one of the best ways to make money as a teenager. … Take Surveys. … Get Paid to Search the Web and Play Games. … Start a Youtube Channel. … Sell Your Old Stuff. … Install These Apps. … Tutor. … Learn a Profitable Skill.More items…•

Do I need a work permit at 17 in Texas?

Any person 17 years old and younger needs a work permit to work in Texas. The employer is responsible for processing the work permit. The employee cannot work until the work permit is properly authorized. The work permit requires the employee to submit proof of age, such as a birth certificate.

Can a 17 year old work full time Texas?

Between June 1 and Labor Day, a child may work between the hours of 7 a.m. and 9 p.m. A child 16 or 17 years of age have no restrictions on the number of hours or times of day they may work.

How many hours can a 16 year old work Texas?

May not work during school hours. Can work no more than 8 hours in a day or 40 hours in a week when school is not in session. Can work no more than 3 hours in a day or 18 hours in a week when school is in session. Can work only between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. during the school year.

Can a 16 year old work at HEB?

Minimum Age to Work at H E B: 16 years old (How old do you have to be to work at H E B?)

How old do you have to be to work at HEB curbside?

17 years old16 years old. You can be 17 years old and work curbside for HEB.

What jobs pay the most at 16?

Jobs With Good Pay for 16-Year-OldsWhat Is Good Pay? According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, the average pay for a 16-19-year-old in the U.S. is $410. … Not Your Typical Nanny. Source. … Entry-Level Web Designer. … Referee for Youth Sporting Events. … Lifeguard at a Beach. … High School Tutor. … Summer Golf Caddy. … Swim Instructor.More items…

How old do you have to be to work at HEB as a bagger?

16 years oldTo be a bagger at HEB, you must be 16 years old. 16 years or older.